Four Tide Players Named All-SEC by


Tuesday, May 18, 2004

Wade LeBlanc
Wade LeBlanc

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. -- has announced its 2004 All-SEC teams, and the University of Alabama has placed four players in the three post-season all-star squads.

The Crimson Tide honorees include freshman left-hander Wade LeBlanc, junior second baseman Allen Rice, sophomore third baseman Evan Bush and junior left-hander Taylor Tankerlsey.

LeBlanc, a leading candidate for National and SEC "Freshman of the Year" honors, is the only UA player named to the first team All-SEC squad.  The Lake Charles, La., native is 8-4 with an SEC-leading 1.60 ERA this season.  In addition, he leads the SEC and the NCAA with eight, nine-inning complete games.

LeBlanc and Georgia first baseman Josh Morris are the only two freshmen on the first-team All-SEC squad.

Rice, Bush and Tankerlsey were all third-team All-SEC selections by earlier this week.

Rice is the team's leading hitter with a .354 average, with one home run and 28 RBI. 

Bush is without question the most improved offensive player on the Alabama team.  In 49 games, the Rainbow City native is batting .321 with seven home runs and 30 RBI.  He batted only .152 last year as a freshman and added 13 RBI in 44 games.

Tankersley has posted the second-lowest ERA in the SEC (1.64) this season, while pitching as a starter and in a closer role.  The junior is 2-4 with four saves and a 1.64 ERA in 18 appearances in 2004.

Ole Miss sophomore pitcher/first baseman Stephen Head as the 2004 SEC Player of the Year. Head, a .360 hitter with eleven homeruns has spearheaded the Rebels into a first place tie in the SEC standings. On the mound, Head has a 6-1 record with 5 saves and a 2.43 ERA.

The SEC Pitcher of Year is Florida junior right-hander Justin Hoyman. Hoyman is tied with the SEC lead with ten wins against just a single loss.

Second-year Arkansas head coach Dave Van Horn has been named's SEC Coach of the Year. Van Horn has taken a team picked to finish last in the SEC West to a club that is tied for first in the SEC standings entering the final weekend.

The three all-SEC teams contain forty-two players. South Carolina led all schools with seven players on the squads. Vanderbilt had five players while Ole Miss, LSU, Florida, Georgia, Vanderbilt, and Alabama placed four each players each on the team. All twelve schools had at least one player represented.

Listed below are the complete squads:


1B Josh Morris, GEORGIA (.341/16/64)
2B Warner Jones, VANDERBILT (.418/7/57)
3B Clay Goodwin, ARKANSAS (.331/4/23)
SS Justin Holmes, GEORGIA (.332/7/46)
C  Landon Powell, SOUTH CAROLINA (.356/15/58)
OF Jon Zeringue, LSU (422/11/47)
OF J.C. Holt, LSU (.394/5/37)
OF Brad Corley, MISSISSIPPI STATE (.374/18/49)
UT Stephen Head, OLE MISS (.360/11/47 - 6-1 2.43 5 svs)
DH C.J. Smith, FLORIDA (.368/13/57)
SP Wade LeBlanc, ALABAMA (8-4 1.60)
SP Justin Hoyman, FLORIDA (10-1 2.62)
SP Mark Holliman, OLE MISS (8-2 2.33)
RP Chad Blackwell, SOUTH CAROLINA (3-3 3.30 11 svs)

Player of the Year: Stephen Head
Pitcher of the Year: Justin Hoyman
Coach of the Year: Dave Van Horn


1B Steve Pearce, SOUTH CAROLINA - .337/14/50
2B Spencer Graeter, KENTUCKY (.323/4/31)
3B Josh Smith, GEORGIA (.338/1/32)
SS Scott Hode, ARKANSAS (.315/7/45)
C  Craig Tatum, MISSISSIPPI STATE (.341/11/54)
OF Brendan Winn, SOUTH CAROLINA (.349/17/58)
OF Ben Harrison, FLORIDA (.365/14/54)
OF Clete Thomas, AUBURN (.340/4/44)
UT Brian Pettway, OLE MISS (.316/5/27 - 2-3 2.39 2 svs)
DH Alex Suarez, TENNESSEE (.366/3/29)
SP Charley Boyce, ARKANSAS (7-1 3.18)
SP Ryan Mullins, VANDERBILT (6-2 2.72)
SP Jeremy Sowers, VANDERBILT (7-5 3.14)
RP Darren O'Day, FLORIDA (7-1 2.30 5 svs)


1B Cesar Nicolas, VANDERBILT (.317/12/56)
2B Allen Rice, ALABAMA (.355/1/28)
3B Evan Bush, ALABAMA (.321/7/30)
SS Ryan Klosterman, VANDERBILT (.341/6/28)
C  Barry Gunther, OLE MISS (.352/2/27)
OF Ryan Patterson, LSU (.331/9/51)
OF Michael Campbell SOUTH CAROLINA (.313/14/46)
OF Caleb Stewart, KENTUCKY (.327/10/34)
UT Josh Bell, AUBURN (.279/10/44 - 3-3 4.44)
DH Nick Stavinoha, LSU (.343/6/38)
SP Aaron Rawl, SOUTH CAROLINA (10-3 4.47)
SP Michael Hyle, GEORGIA (6-1 2.72)
SP Matt Campbell, SOUTH CAROLINA (8-3 3.17)
SP Taylor Tankersley, ALABAMA (2-4 1.64 4 svs)