Thomas Burrows Named to NCBWA Mid-Season Stopper of the Year Watch List



April 23, 2014

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Alabama closer Thomas Burrows (Florence, Ala.) is one of 50 players that have been named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Mid-Season Stopper of the Year Watch List. Burrows is one of four freshman and one of seven closers from Southeastern Conference schools to be selected to the list.

Last week Burrows was named the SEC Freshman of the Week for the second time this season, after he closed out three of the four wins for Alabama. He got the save against UAB on Wednesday, before closing out both wins in the Tennessee series.

This season, Burrows has been a force for the Tide at the back end of games. In 18 appearances, he has a 4-1 record and is 8-for-8 in save opportunities. His eight saves are tied for the fourth most in the SEC and ranks 24th in the country. He has a 0.73 ERA (2 runs) with 26 strikeouts in 24.2 innings and is holding opponents to a .105 batting average.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition. 

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2014 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Berg of UCLA was crowned the winner in 2013.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

Get all the latest information on the team by following AlabamaBSB on Twitter and Instagram and on Facebook at Alabama Baseball. General athletic news can also be found at UA_Athletics on Twitter and Instagram and AlabamaAthletics on Facebook.

2014 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Mid-Season Watch List
Pitcher                                 School                                  Yr.
David Berg                            UCLA                                     Jr.
Greg Brody                           Belmont                                 Jr.
Joe Broussard                      LSU                                        Jr.
Nick Burdi                             Louisville                               Jr.
Thomas Burrows                 Alabama                                Fr.
Matt Campbell                      Clemson                                Sr.
Michael Cederoth                San Diego State                  Jr.
Andy Cox                              Tennessee                           So.
Jacob Cronenworth            Michigan                               So.
Bret Dahlson                        Loyola Marymount              Sr.
Eric Dorsch                           Kent State                             R-Jr.
Matt Eckelman                     Saint Louis                            So.
Riley Ferrell                          TCU                                       So.
Aaron Fossas                       Wake Forest                         R-So.
Carson Fulmer                     Vanderbilt                             Jr.
Bryan Garcia                        Miami, Florida                      Fr.
Andres Gracia                      Samford                                 Jr.
Michael Gunn                      Arkansas                               Jr.
Chase Henry                        College of Charleston        Jr.
Zach Hirsch                          Nebraska                              Sr.
Nick Howard                         Virginia                                  Jr.
Reece Karalus                     Santa Clara                          So.
Eric Karch                             Pepperdine                           Sr.
Ryan Keaffaber                    Indiana State                        Fr.
Mason Klotz                          Southeastern Louisiana     R-So.
Brandon Koch                      Dallas Baptist                       So.
Jacob Lindgren                    Mississippi State                  Jr.
Seth Lucio                             Tennessee Tech                 Jr.
Justin McCalvin                   Kennesaw State                  Jr.
Brendan McCurry                Oklahoma State                   Sr.
Sutter McLoughlin               Sacramento State                So.
Josh Michalec                      Baylor                                    Sr.
Sam Moore                           UC Irvine                               Jr.
Ryan Pennell                       Elon                                        Sr.
Ashton Perritt                        Liberty                                    Jr.
Jake Reed                            Oregon                                  Jr.
Reed Reilly                           Cal Poly                                 Jr.
Jason Richman                    Georgia Southern               So.
Jordan Romano                   Oral Roberts                         Jr
Bradley Roney                     Southern Miss                      Jr.
Victor Sanchez                     New Mexico                          So.
Joel Seddon                         South Carolina                     Jr.
Zach Stone                           UC Davis                               Fr.
Travis Stout                          Jacksonville State               Jr.
Dillon Tate                            UC Santa Barbara               So.
Ryan Thompson                  Campbell                              Sr.
Ian Tompkins                       Western Kentucky               Jr.
A.J. Vanegas                        Stanford                                 Sr.
Chase Wellbrock                 Houston                                 Sr.
Ryan Williams                      East Carolina                       Sr.