Baseball Picked to Finish Third in SEC Western Division

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Alabama selected third in the Western Division by SEC coaches.
Alabama selected third in the Western Division by SEC coaches.

Feb. 13, 2012

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Alabama baseball team is picked to finish third in the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference preseason coaches poll, as announced by the conference on Monday. The Tide finished tied for second in the SEC Western Division a year ago with a 14-16 conference record.

Alabama is coming off a 35-28 campaign in 2011, advancing to the NCAA Tallahassee Regional, and return 21 letterwinners and six starters from last year’s squad. Third-year head coach Mitch Gaspard has guided the Tide back-to-back second place Western Division finishes in his first two years at The Capstone.

UA’s top returning player, two-time All-American and Gold Glove Award winning outfielder Taylor Dugas, returns for his senior season after leading the Tide with a .349 batting average and eight home runs last season. Senior shortstop Jared Reaves will anchor the infield, after leading Alabama with 47 RBI and 22 doubles a year ago. 

The Crimson Tide's season and home opener is set for Friday, Feb. 17, at 6:05 p.m., when UA hosts the Florida Atlantic Owls in the first game of a three-game series at Sewell-Thomas Stadium. 

To purchase season tickets for the 31-game, 2012 Alabama baseball home schedule, call the ticket office at 1.877.TIDETIX or log on to

2012 SEC Preseason Baseball Coaches Poll
Eastern Division
Team                   Pts.   2011 SEC Finish
1) Florida             66     22-8 (T1st)
2) South Carolina      56     22-8 (T1st)
3) Georgia             42     16-14 (4th)
4) Vanderbilt          40     22-8 (T1st)
5) Kentucky            25     8-22 (5th)
6) Tennessee           18     7-23 (6th)
Western Division        
Team                   Pts.   2011 SEC Finish
1) Arkansas            64     15-15 (1st)
2) LSU                 58     13-17 (T5th)
3) Alabama             38     14-16 (T2nd)
4) Mississippi         34     13-17 (T5th)
5) Mississippi State   33     14-16 (T2nd)
6) Auburn              20     14-16 (T2nd)

SEC Champion: Florida