37 Alabama Student-Athletes Earn Place on SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll

May 2, 2011

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The University of Alabama placed 37 student-athletes on the Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced recently.

The men's swimming and diving team led the way for the Crimson Tide with 12 making the list, matching last year's total, including: Daniel Armstrong (Chemical Engineering), Alan Axford (Geography), Adam Booher (Interdisciplinary Studies), Catalin Cosma (Accounting and Economics), Andrew Reeves (Electrical Engineering), Jake Reynolds (Human Performance and Exercise Science), Andrea Rezzonico (General Business), Daniel Rozick (Philosophy and Political Science), Reese Shirey (Pre-Medical), Kyle Weeks (Finance), Joe Ziegler (English) and Denes Zubcsek (Civil and Construction Engineering).

The women's swimming and diving team had 11 honorees, including: Britney Busch (Telecommunication and Film), Kara Feeney (Interior Design), Jenna Gallo (General Health Studies), Kate Shannon Gray (Marketing), Caitlyn Harrison (Finance), Shelby Hixon (Biology), Kelsie Ludolph (Management and Finance), Samantha Lugar (Finance and Art), Ida Persson (Art and Advertising), Suzanne Schwee (Psychology) and Paige Troyan (Food and Nutrition).

The Tide's SEC, NCAA Regional and NCAA Champion gymnastics team had all nine of its upperclassmen earn the honor, a total that was second among league's gymnastics teams, including: Becca Alexin (General Health Studies), Alyssa Chapman (Psychology), Marissa Gutierrez (Early Childhood Education), Kayla Hoffman (Human Development & Family Studies/Early Childhood Education), Megan Mashburn (General Health Studies), Ashley Priess (Spanish), Ashley Sledge (Public Relations), Geralen Stack-Eaton (Telecommunication and Film) and Rachel Terry (Early Childhood Education).

The women's basketball team, which reached the WNIT this season, had three honorees, Katie Hancock (Marketing), Erin Hogue (General Health Sciences) and Ericka Russell (Business Administration), while the men's basketball team, which reached the championship game of the NIT, had two, Chris Hines (Human Environmental Sciences) and Justin Luquire (Marketing).

To earn a place on the honor roll, a student-athlete must earn a 3.0 or better grade point average for either the preceding academic year or their career and be a sophomore or better in academic standing. The winter list honors those student-athletes that participate in men's and women's basketball, gymnastics and men's and women's swimming and diving.

The Tide's football, soccer and volleyball teams, which were honored earlier this year, put 45 student-athletes on the fall honor roll. The conference will recognize the sports whose championships are in the spring, as well as this year's freshmen, at a later date.

    The Battle Plan