Gold, Magadan & Ogilvie To Be Inducted Into Alabama Sports Hall Of Fame

Jan. 23, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Three important figures in the history of University of Alabama athletics - baseball star Dave Magadan, football star Major Ogilvie and broadcaster Eli Gold - were recently announced as selections for induction as part of the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF) Class of 2014. The Board of Directors of the Hall of Fame announced the induction class into the Hall. The accounting firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers tabulated the votes by the Hall's Statewide Selection Committees.

Joining Gold, Magadan and Ogilvie as newly elected inductees for the Class of 2014 are Ruthie Bolton, Red Cochran (posthumously), Bill Cody, Travis Grant and Walter Jones. The eight newly-elected inductees will bring the total of all inductees since 1969 to 321. The 2014 Induction Banquet will take place in the Birmingham Ballroom, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, on Saturday, May 17. Reception and banquet tickets can be purchased by contacting the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Museum.

Below are bios on each UA honoree produced by the ASHOF:


- Born December 15, 1953, in Brooklyn, New York. He started his sports broadcasting career in 1972 working as a weekend reporter with the Mutual Broadcasting System. He has done play-by-play assignments for professional hockey, including the World Hockey Association (Birmingham Bulls) and the National Hockey League (St. Louis Blues and Nashville Predators). He was the first play-by-play announcer for the UAB Blazers basketball team and remained part of the broadcast team for eight years. He spent four years as the voice of the Birmingham Barons Baseball team and was named the Southern League's Broadcaster of the year for 1983. Since 1976, he has been a member of NASCAR's Motor Racing Network which broadcasts NASCAR racing events and has been a network co-anchor since 1988. He has been the radio play-by-play voice of the Alabama Crimson Tide's football team since 1988. He is a four-time Alabama Sportscaster of the Year award winner.








- Born September 30, 1962, in Tampa, Fla. He played collegiately at the University of Alabama. His senior year he set the SEC batting average record at .525, which is still the record (it is 5th best in NCAA history). His .439 career batting average is the SEC record and is 10th best in NCAA history. He also won the NCAA Batting Crown that year. He won the Golden Spike Award (which is the equivalent of winning the Heisman Trophy in football). In 1983 he was an AP All-American, Sporting News All-American and the College Player of the Year by Baseball America. He was second round pick of the New York Mets in the 1983 Major League Draft. He played sixteen seasons for seven different teams. His best season was 1990 with the Mets when he had a batting average of .328, which was third in the National League. He appeared in 1,582 major league games and collected 1,197 hits. He finished his career with a .288 batting average; a .390 on-base percentage; and a .377 slugging percentage. He was on the coaching staff of the Boston Red Sox for their 2007 World Series Championship and was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2010. He is presently hitting coach for the Texas Rangers.





- Born December 12, 1958, in Birmingham, Ala. He played collegiately at the University of Alabama, where he was an All-SEC First Team performer in 1979 and Second Team All-SEC in 1980. He was an Academic All-American in 1979. He played on two national championship teams in 1979 and 1980, and three SEC Championship Teams in 1977, 1978 and 1979. He was selected as the Most Valuable Player in the 1980 Sugar Bowl; and was also the MVP in the 1981 Cotton Bowl. He was Captain of the 1980 team and holds the distinction of being named to the All-Decade Team for both the 1970s and 1980s. During his career at Alabama under Coach Bryant, the Crimson Tide was 44-4.


    The Battle Plan